Franschhoek farm workers honoured

{ Posted on Aug 12 2013 by B-man }
Categories : Travel news

The Franschhoek Wine Valley Tourist Association has given recognition to the Franschhoek vignerons farm workers by awarding the Farm Worker of the Year Award at the 2010 Oesfees at Solms Delta in Franschhoek on 27 March 2010.

The aim of these annual awards is to establish role models for farm workers and encourage service excellence. A few of the attributes the panel were looking for include dedication, responsibility, knowledge, interpersonal relations and community participation.

Jacques Daniels (pictured) of Franschhoek Pass Winery was the overall winner. He received a training programme as part of his prize as well as cash, gift vouchers and a trophy.

Fellow nominees included Susan Davids (Glenwood), Paul April (La Bri), Clive Cupido (Mont Rochelle), Saul Willemse (Mont Rochelle), Andries van der Westhuizen (Plaisir de Merle), Frederick Fischer (Solms Delta) and Jeffrey van der Merwe (Solms Delta).

Participants were interviewed by an independent panel of judges. The winner and each of the other candidates were awarded a training programme funded by the wine industry to promote their career. The training programme will be completed in consultation with their employer, as well as the panel of judges.

The award ceremony will be held on an annual basis. Vignerons members are asked to nominate one or more of their farm workers and members of staff at the participating farms are also given the opportunity to nominate a colleague.

Related posts

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.